FOCUS

I don’t know about YOU, but I have been fighting for FOCUS for the past couple months. The distractions have been overwhelming. I had to STOP and literally define the word FOCUS again. I needed to define it for my present mindset. The definitions could have been many and written in rich vocabulary and deep below the earth’s surface. BUT I saw another distraction coming on.

What is FOCUS for me right now….FOCUS is letting go of nice things that don’t matter.

I saw this definition in  a John Maxwell book and it jump off the page into my cluttered mind. Whoa! I said to myself. This is it!

Philippians 3:7-9 says  “but what things were gain to me, these I have counted loss for Christ…..I also count ALL things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my LORD, ……I have suffered loss of ALL things, and count them as rubbish, that I MAY GAIN CHRIST AND BE FOUND IN HIM…..”

I am in a 911 situation right now because I am already fighting to FOCUS on my own, but I am also in the midst of a atmosphere of idolatry, greed, gluttony, materialism, deception and hypocrisy. This time of year….Halloween – New Year Day is a crazy time in USA. It’s difficult to tell the Christians from the non-believers. Everyone looks alike and act alike. 


My mind and heart screams “WHERE IS JESUS IN ALL THIS CHAOS?”  

I need to get back on track NOW, not later, right now! I need to:

1. Work on myself: I am my greatest assets or worst liability.

2. Work on my priorities: Fight for what is important in eyes of GOD.

3. Work on my strengths: I will reach my potential GOD has for me.

4. Work with people of like spirits: I cannot be effective alone. 

It’s time to LET GO OF NICE THINGS THAT DONT MATTER!

I must avoid the clutter of life; the clutter that society forces upon me; the clutter of my past. 


It’s time to question everything, pursue excellence, set priorities, avoid perfectionism, control interruptions and distractions. And say “NO” to good things that are not GOD things. 

This journey of regaining FOCUS can leave one with only a few kindred spirits, but it’s necessary. People love following crowds, while Eagles love flying high and alone…..selah. 

FOCUS! 


Leave a Reply

